Workplace Posters » Massachusetts » Massachusetts Earned Sick Time

Free vs Paid: Which Product Version is Right for You?

Includes all required posters Includes all required posters
All-in-One Poster All-in-One Poster
Compact & easy to put up No tape or pushpins
Up to date guarantee Up to date guarantee
Buy the All-in-One Professional Labor Law Posters instead of printing multiple pages. These posters contain both Federal and State laws, and help employers avoid posting fines and possible workplace conflicts such as wage and hour disputes, harassment, or discrimination.

The Massachusetts Earned Sick Time Law (MGL c. 149, §§ 148C and 148D) was enacted in 2015. The law entitles most Massachusetts employees to earn up to 40 hours of job-protected sick time per year to take care of themselves and certain family members. Workers must earn at least one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked.

Employers with 11 or more employees must provide paid sick time. For employers with 10 or fewer employees, sick time may be unpaid. Paid sick time must be paid on the same schedule and at the same rate as regular wages.

Employees can use earned sick time for the following reasons:

  • Their own illness or injury
  • A routine medical appointment
  • The illness or injury of a child, spouse, parent, or spouse’s parent
  • To address the effects of domestic violence involving themselves or their children

The smallest amount of sick time an employee can take is one hour. Sick time cannot be used as an excuse to be late for work without advance notice of a proper use.

Employees who are fired or disciplined for using earned sick time may file a complaint with the Massachusetts Department of Labor. Employees who are successful in their complaint may be entitled to back pay, front pay, and other damages.

The Massachusetts Earned Sick Time Law is a valuable tool for employees who need to take time off work for personal or family reasons. The law ensures that employees have the time they need to stay healthy and take care of their loved ones.

Here are some additional details about the law:

  • Employees begin earning sick time on their first day of work and may begin using earned sick time 90 days after starting work.
  • Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time from year to year.
  • Employers must provide notice of the law to employees.
  • Employees can file a complaint with the Massachusetts Department of Labor if they believe their employer has violated the law.