Workplace Posters » Vermont » VERMONT Minimum Wage Poster

The minimum wage in Vermont is $13.18 per hour as of January 1, 2023. This is an increase of $0.63 from the previous minimum wage of $12.55. The minimum wage is adjusted annually in accordance with Vermont law and takes effect at the start of the new year. Any employee who believes they are not being compensated fairly, according to this law, is encouraged to contact the Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Unit at 802-951-4083 or online at

There are a few exceptions to the minimum wage law. For example, tipped employees are entitled to a minimum wage of $6.59 per hour, as long as they earn at least $9.45 per hour in tips. Additionally, certain agricultural workers are exempt from the minimum wage law.

The minimum wage law is enforced by the Vermont Department of Labor. If you believe that your employer is violating the minimum wage law, you can file a complaint with the Department of Labor. The Department of Labor can investigate the complaint and take enforcement action, if necessary.

Here are some additional details about the Vermont minimum wage law:

  • The law applies to all employers in Vermont, with the following exceptions:
    • Employers with fewer than 3 employees
    • Domestic employees
    • Interstate transportation workers
    • Certain agricultural workers
  • The law does not require employers to pay overtime.
  • Employees who are paid on a piece-rate basis are entitled to earn the minimum wage for all hours worked.
  • Employees who are laid off or fired are entitled to be paid for all accrued wages, including any unpaid minimum wage.
  • Employers are required to post a notice about the minimum wage law in a conspicuous place in the workplace.

The Vermont minimum wage law is designed to ensure that all workers in the state are paid a fair wage. If you have any questions about the minimum wage law, please contact the Vermont Department of Labor.