Workplace Posters » New Jersey » NEW JERSEY CHILD LABOR LAW POSTER

New Jersey Child Labor

Free vs Paid: Which Product Version is Right for You?

Includes all required posters Includes all required posters
All-in-One Poster All-in-One Poster
Compact & easy to put up No tape or pushpins
Up to date guarantee Up to date guarantee
Buy the All-in-One Professional Labor Law Posters instead of printing multiple pages. These posters contain both Federal and State laws, and help employers avoid posting fines and possible workplace conflicts such as wage and hour disputes, harassment, or discrimination.

The New Jersey Child Labor Law sets standards for the employment of minors under the age of 18. These standards include restrictions on the types of jobs minors can perform, as well as limitations on the number of hours they can work and the times of day they can work.

Minors who are 14 or 15 years old generally cannot work more than three hours on school days or more than eight hours on non-school days, and they cannot work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. during the school year. During the summer months, they can work until 9 p.m.

Minors who are 16 or 17 years old can work up to eight hours per day and up to 40 hours per week. They also have some flexibility in terms of the times of day they can work, although they generally cannot work before 6 a.m. or after 11 p.m.

There are also restrictions on the types of work minors can perform. For example, minors are generally not allowed to work in hazardous occupations, such as mining or operating heavy machinery. There are also restrictions on the types of jobs that can be performed by minors in certain industries, such as retail and food service.

Employers who violate New Jersey’s Child Labor Law can be subject to fines and other penalties. If you have any questions or concerns about child labor laws in New Jersey, you can contact the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development for more information.