Workplace Posters » Massachusetts » Massachusetts Parental Leave Act

Free vs Paid: Which Product Version is Right for You?

Includes all required posters Includes all required posters
All-in-One Poster All-in-One Poster
Compact & easy to put up No tape or pushpins
Up to date guarantee Up to date guarantee
Buy the All-in-One Professional Labor Law Posters instead of printing multiple pages. These posters contain both Federal and State laws, and help employers avoid posting fines and possible workplace conflicts such as wage and hour disputes, harassment, or discrimination.

The Massachusetts Parental Leave Act (MPLA) provides eligible employees with up to 8 weeks of unpaid leave per child for the purpose of giving birth or for the placement of a child under the age of 18 (or under the age of 23 if the child is mentally or physically disabled) for adoption. Both women and men are eligible for parental leave.

To be eligible for parental leave, an employee must:

  • Have been employed by the same employer for at least 3 months
  • Have worked at least 1,250 hours in the previous year
  • Be an employee of a covered employer

A covered employer is an employer with 6 or more employees.

To take parental leave, an employee must provide their employer with at least 30 days’ notice of their intent to take leave. The employee may be required to provide medical certification of their need for leave.

During parental leave, an employee’s job must be held open for them. The employee is entitled to return to their same job or to an equivalent job with equivalent pay, benefits, and seniority.

The MPLA does not require employers to provide paid parental leave. However, many employers do offer paid parental leave as a benefit to their employees.

If you have any questions about the MPLA, you can contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor at 617-626-4444.