The New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment (SAFE) Act is a state law that provides job-protected leave and other protections for employees who are victims of domestic violence or sexual assault, or have a family member who is a victim.
Under the SAFE Act, eligible employees can take up to 20 days of job-protected leave per year to seek medical attention, counseling, or legal assistance, or to participate in safety planning or other activities related to the domestic violence or sexual assault. The leave may be taken all at once or intermittently, and the employer may require that the employee use any available paid time off first.
The SAFE Act also provides that an employee who is a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault or has a family member who is a victim may request a reasonable accommodation from their employer, such as a transfer to a different job or work location, or a change in their work schedule or duties.
Employers are prohibited from discriminating or retaliating against employees who take leave or request an accommodation under the SAFE Act. In addition, employers are required to maintain the confidentiality of any information related to an employee’s status as a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault.
The SAFE Act applies to all employers in the state, regardless of size, and covers all employees who have worked for the employer for at least 12 months and for at least 1,000 hours during the previous year.
If you are a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault or have a family member who is a victim, you may be eligible for job-protected leave and other protections under the New Jersey SAFE Act. You can contact the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development or an employment law attorney for more information about your rights under the law.