The Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance are the folks that enforce Ohio’s minimum wage and all the rules and laws associated with it. Higher than the national minimum wage, Ohio has thus far avoided the spate of drastic increases seen in other states and it remains a pretty low $8.55 per hour where it’s been as of January 1, 2019. The minimum wage in Ohio for tipped workers is $4.30 per hour. The minimum wage applies to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $314,000 per year.
According to the chapter in the Ohio Revised Code relating to Minimum fair wage standards (4111.09), every employer shall keep a summary of the rules “posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises wherein any person subject thereto is employed.” for those of us who aren’t fluent in legalese that means you got to post the Ohio minimum wage poster somewhere conspicuous in your workplace where all employees are likely to see it.
The notice also has sections related to overtimes as well as a list of the records to be kept by the employer. An employer in Ohio shall pay an employee for overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times the employee’s wage rate for hours in excess of 40 hours in one workweek (not including employers grossing less than $150,000 per year). Employers must also keep records for at least three years showing the name, address, occupation, rate of pay, amount paid each pay period, and hours worked each day and each work week available for copying and inspection by the Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce.
In addition, the State of Ohio 2019 Minimum Wage Notice lists individuals exempt from minimum wage some of whom include:
- Individuals employed by the United States
- Baby-sitters or live-in companions
- Salesmen compensated by commission